LPGA Kingsmill Championship 14 - 20 May 2018

Published: 16-May-2018      Updated: 01-Aug-2018
  • kingsmill river course

2018 LPGA Kingsmill Championship 14th - 20th May

The 2018 LPGA Kingsmill Championship is being held this week at Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia. Founded in 2003, the 72 hole tournament is held on the Pete Dye designed River Course.  The par-71 course, 6,430 yards, is set along the banks of the James River in Williamsburg. Defending champion is American Lexi Thompson. Thompson has finished in the top ten in each of the last four years of the tournament and in 2017 her 20-under-par total set the record for this event.

Six previous winners are in the field including Thompson. The others are Thailand's Ariya Jutanugarn who won in 2016, Australians Minjee Lee who won in 2015 and Karrie Webb in 2006, and Lizette Salas (2014) and Cristie Kerr, both American. Kerr has won at Kingsmill three times, in 2005, 2009 and in 2013. 

As well as Lee and Webb, Australians who are competing include Rebecca Artis, Hannah Green, Katherine Kirk, Su Oh and Sarah Jane Smith.  

The tournament prize fund is $1.3 million.


Add a comment

Title Notify Website Updates

Subscribe to receive updates and new posts via email