Countdown to The Masters at Augusta National 2021


The Masters at Augusta National Golf Club, 8-11 April 2021

The 85th US Masters at Augusta is now less than three weeks away.

Here at this link is the 2021 list of players from the Augusta website.

Five Australians will be competing:  Adam Scott, Cameron Smith, Marc Leishman, Jason Day and Matt Jones.  Adam Scott won the Masters in 2013, Jason Day was 3rd and Marc Leishman tied 4th in that same year. Cameron Smith tied as runner-up in 2020.

In 2020 the Masters was held in November, having been postponed due to the pandemic.

Dustin Johnson won the tournament with a record score of 268, 20-under-par (yes, twenty...), five strokes ahead of Cameron Smith and Sung-jae Im. 

In addition to the green jacket, winners of the tournament receive a gold medal and their names are engraved on the original Masters trophy. 

The original silver Masters trophy is a model of the clubhouse. It is on a 4 ft wide base, has a nine ft band for the engraved names (winners and runners up), and weighs 130 lbs+.  It stays permanently at Augusta National.  The Masters tournament champion is awarded a sterling silver replica, 6.5 inches tall and weighing about 20 lbs, which they may keep.

The runner-up receives a silver medal and a silver plate. 

There is also the Silver Cup award for the lowest scoring amateur to make the cut, and a silver medal for the amateur runner-up.

As well, several awards are presented to players who perform exceptionally well during the Masters. Whoever has the lowest score for each round receives a crystal vase, while players who score a hole-in-one or a double eagle win a large crystal bowl. For each eagle a player makes, they receive a pair of crystal stemmed glasses. 

More about Masters champions and their trophies here.

2020 Historic Leaderboard 

Add a comment

Title Notify Website Updates

Subscribe to receive updates and new posts via email